Pinarayi Vijayan to make a historic come back to power in Kerala, BJP won’t have an MLA this time

Pinarayi Vijayan to make a historic come back to power in Kerala, BJP won’t have an MLA this time
Pinarayi Vijayan, the Chief Minister of Kerala, seeking re-election.
After the 1970s, the people of Kerala have never voted a chief minister or party back to power. But the state’s incumbent Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan of the Left Democratic Front (LDF) has just pulled it off.

In a state where right wing politics was always a distant third, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) did not win a single seat.
AllianceSeats won in 2016Seats won in 2021

Here’s why the LDF was so confident in the run up to the polls

Kerala government’s handling of the COVID-19 crisis, especially the first wave, was praised by the international media. The health minister of Kerala KK Shailaja -- ‘Shailaja Teacher’ for most malayalees -- was heralded a superstar. The way she handled the Nipah virus outbreak of 2018 and the manner in which the state’s executives assembled behind her to prepare and fight the first wave of the Coronavirus was applauded across the political spectrum.

As the country continues to be ravaged by the second wave of the pandemic, Kerala, too, seems to be struggling to contain the massive spread. The state has enforced lockdown-like restrictions in the past few days. Even then, Kerala has a surplus of oxygen supply and is helping other states with it. The state has been through a lot, in the last 5 years, including the disastrous 2018 flood and a couple of storms.


Vote share in 2016 and 2021 assembly elections:

Coalition2016 vote share2021 vote share
LDF43.5%Over 33%
UDF38.8%Over 31.9%
NDA15%Over 11.8%
Others2.8%Over 15%

These are some of the key constituencies and winners:

(Winners’ names in bold letters)
NemomV SivankuttyK MuraleedharanKummanam RajasekharanO Rajagopal (NDA)
DharmadamPinarayi VijayanC. RaghunathCK PadmanabhanPinarayi Vijayan (LDF)
MattanurKK ShailajaIllikkal AgasthyBiju ElakkuzhiEP Jayarajan (LDF)
PalakkadCP PramodShafi ParambilE SreedharanShafi Parambil (UDF)
ThrissurP BalachandranPadmaja VenugopalSuresh GopiVS Sunil Kumar (LDF)
HaripadR SajilalRamesh ChennithalaK SomanRamesh Chennithala (UDF)
PuthuppallyJaick C ThomasOommen ChandyN HariOommen Chandy(UDF)
KollamMukeshBindhu KrishnaM SunilMukesh (LDF)
KonniKU Jenish KumarRobin PeterK SurendranKU Jenish Kumar (LDF)
PalaJose K ManiMani C KappanPrameela DeviMani C Kappan (then LDF)

MK Stalin and DMK expect majority in Tamil Nadu Assembly election 2021 after staying out of power for 10 straight years
Mamata Banerjee’s fate in West Bengal Assembly election 2021 will be sealed today