SP winner candidate list for Lok Sabha Elections 2019

SP winner candidate list for Lok Sabha Elections 2019
Mathura: Uttar Pradesh Minister Azam Khan during inauguration of a cow shed in Mathura on Sept 16, 2016.(Photo: IANS)

ConstituencyWinner Candidate NameWinning PartyMargin
AzamgarhAkhilesh YadavSP259874
MoradabadDr. S.T. HASANSP97878
RampurMohammad Azam KhanSP109997

SP has won 5 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha elections 2019. Former Uttar Pradesh CM Akhilesh Yadav has won the elections from the Azamgarh lok sabha seat with a margin of more than 250,000 votes. Azam Khan has also defeated Jaya Prada from the Rampur seat by more than 100,000 votes.

The Samajwadi party led by Akilesh Yadav faced the elections as part of the Mahagathbandhan involving SP, BSP and RLD. The exit poll results for the SP as per Axis IndiaToday-Axis MyIndia predict that the alliance made up by the three parties might win from 16 seats only. The Chanakya predictions for 2019 Lok Sabha seats presume only 2 seats for SP and its alliance. The other predictions for SP for the Lok Sabha elections 2019 include 17-19 by News18, 13 seats by India Today, 40 constituencies by CVoter and 41 seats by NewsX.

The total number of parliamentary seats in UP is 80. In 2014 general elections for the parliament, SP got only 4 seats out of 80 from Uttar Pradesh. In 2009 elections, SP won from 22 constituencies. The winning statistics for SP during 2004 was 35 seats.

In 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Akilesh Yadav is fighting from Azamgarh Lok Sabha seat. Dharmendra Yadav fights from Badaun, Devendra Yadav from Etah, and Mulayam Singh Yadav seeks election from Mainpuri Lok Sabha constituency. The other important candidates for SP in UP are Azam Khan from Rampur and S.T. Hassan from Moradabad Lok Sabha seat. SP has nominated Shafiq-ur-Rehman from Sambhal ruling out the speculations that the party might field Aparna Yadav from here.


In Maharashtra, SP was interested to form an alliance with the Congress party. The Congress did not heed to the demands of SP for any one seat among Mumbai South, Mumbai South Central, Bhiwandi, Mumbai North West, or Mumbai North Central seats. Following that, SP entered into an alliance with the BSP and they both agreed upon the seat sharing formula at the rate of 4 seats for SP and 44 seats for BSP. In Maharashtra, SP contested from four seats namely Mumbai North West, Bhiwandi, Beed, and Nanded.