BCCI picks 3-member Cricket Advisory Committee that will kickstart process to select men’s national team

BCCI picks 3-member Cricket Advisory Committee that will kickstart process to select men’s national team
  • The committee is composed of Ashok Malhotra, Jatin Paranjape and Sulakshana Naik
  • The CAC is responsible for picking the new selection panel - the selection panel will then be responsible for selecting the senior Indian National Team.
  • In November 2022, BCCI had sacked the entire selection panel headed by Chetan Sharma.
The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the appointment of the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) on Thursday. The committee, composed of Ashok Malhotra, Jatin Paranjape and Sulakshana Naik, is responsible for finalising the new selection panel for men’s cricket (sr. National team).

While all three members of the CAC are former cricket players, Naik is the only continuing member. Naik, in an 11-year-long career, played two Tests, 46 ODIs and 31 T20Is for India.

Paranjape replaced Rudra Pratap Singh who left the committee to join IPL team Mumbai Indians as a talent scout. Meanwhile, Malhotra replaced former India seamer and Indian national cricket coach, Madan Lal.

“Mr Malhotra has represented India in 7 Tests and 20 One-day internationals and recently served as the President of the Indian Cricketers’ Association. Mr Paranjape has played 4 ODIs for India and was part of the Senior Men’s Selection Committee,” said Jay Shah, honorary secretary-BCCI, in a press release.

Simply put, the BCCI has appointed a team to hire the team – the selection committee– that will hire the players for the senior Indian National men’s team. As per the BCCI constitution, the selection committee is always appointed by the CAC.


The selection committee – which consists of five members from five zones (Central, North, West, South, and East) of India – will ultimately be responsible for selecting players for the senior Indian National Cricket Team.

In November, BCCI sacked the entire senior selection committee headed by Chetan Sharma. Other members of the committee were Harvinder Singh, Debasish Mohanty and Sunil Joshi. There was no selector from West Zone at the time, as Abbey Kuruvilla’s tenure had already ended.

It was during Sharma’s reign as the chief selector that India delivered disappointing results, such as failing to clear the group stage in the 2021 T20 World Cup, and losing the World Test Championship to New Zealand in 2021. India, under Rohit Sharma’s captainship, also faced a crushing defeat at the hands of England in the semi final of 2022 T20 World Cup.

As per reports, BCCI has received over 60 applications for the job of selector. According to BCCI, for an application to be considered, the applicant should fulfil the following criteria:

Should have played a minimum of
a) 7 Test matches; OR
b) 30 First Class matches; OR
c) 10 ODI and 20 First Class matches.

The applicant should also have retired from the game at least 5 years ago, and any person who has been a member of any Cricket Committee (as defined in the rules and regulations of BCCI) for a total of 5 years shall not be eligible to be a member of Men’s Selection Committee.

234-year-old company EID Parry is only a tad more valuable than year-old unicorn GlobalBees
Here are the best apps and games on Google Play in India 2022