scorecardIPL 2024 prize money: How much did KKR, SRH, Kohli, Harshal, Narine and others win this season?
  1. Home
  2. sports
  3. news
  4. IPL 2024 prize money: How much did KKR, SRH, Kohli, Harshal, Narine and others win this season?

IPL 2024 prize money: How much did KKR, SRH, Kohli, Harshal, Narine and others win this season?

IPL 2024 prize money: How much did KKR, SRH, Kohli, Harshal, Narine and others win this season?
Sports3 min read
The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 concluded in a somewhat anti-climatic manner on Sunday, with the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) dominating the finals and securing their third title, leaving Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) with the runners-up medals.

In the high-stakes final, Shreyas Iyer’s team turned the match into a one-sided showcase at the MA Chidambaram Stadium. Mitchell Starc's stellar bowling led KKR to bowl out SRH for a mere 113, setting a record for the lowest total in an IPL final.

Beyond the glory of the trophy and the gleam of the winners' medals, KKR also pocketed hefty prize money for clinching the IPL 2024 title.
How much prize money did KKR win after their third IPL title victory?
Although there's no official statement from the IPL, the prize money for this season reportedly mirrors last year's figures, with the BCCI maintaining the same prize money structure.

Therefore, the total prize purse for IPL 2024 amounts to INR 46.5 crore. From this, KKR will receive INR 20 crore for their victory. Sunrisers Hyderabad, as the second-place team, will get INR 12.5 crore. Former champions Rajasthan Royals will be awarded INR 7 crore for finishing third, while fourth-placed Royal Challengers Bengaluru will take home INR 6.5 crore.

As for the players, Virat Kohli will earn INR 10 lakh for ending IPL 2024 as the top run-scorer. Kohli clinched the Orange Cap, amassing 741 runs in 15 matches at an average of 61.75, including a century and five fifties. His highest score was 113*, and his strike rate of 154.69 marks his best in a single IPL season.

Harshal Patel of Punjab Kings secured the Purple Cap as the season's highest wicket-taker, earning INR 10 lakh. The proficient pacer finished with 24 wickets in 14 matches, boasting an economy of 9.73 and an average of 19.87.

KKR veteran Sunil Narine received the title of the Most Valuable Player of the Year for his all-round contributions, and he will take home INR 10 lakh. This marks a record third time that Narine has won the IPL MVP award. He bagged his first during his debut season in 2012 for picking up 24 wickets, followed by another in 2018 when he scored 357 runs and took 17 wickets.

Other award winners and their respective prize money figures are as follows:
  • Emerging player of the season: Nitish Kumar Reddy (INR 10 lakh)
  • Super Striker of the season: Jake Fraser-McGurk (INR 10 lakh)
  • Ultimate fantasy player: Sunil Narine (INR 10 lakh)
  • Most sixes: Abhishek Sharma (INR 10 lakh)
  • Most fours: Travis Head (INR 10 lakh)
  • Catch of the season: Ramandeep Singh (INR 10 lakh)
  • Best pitch and ground of the season: Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad (INR 50 lakh)
  • Fairplay award: Sunrisers Hyderabad (INR 10 lakh)
These prize figures starkly contrast with the opening season of the IPL in 2008, when the champions were awarded INR 4.8 crore and the runners-up received INR 2.4 crore. The sheer gap between the figures of then and now illustrates the exponential growth the Indian Premier League has seen over the past decade and a half.

Despite the increased prize money, the exorbitant fees for several star players across different franchises have been on a whole other level. For example, KKR signed Mitchell Starc for an astounding INR 24.75 crores this year, making him the most expensive purchase in IPL history. Following him as IPL 2024’s costliest signings were Pat Cummins at INR 20.75 crores, Daryl Mitchell at INR 14 crores, Harshal Patel at INR 11.75 crores and Alzarri Joseph at INR 11.5 crores.