List of NSE and BSE Stock Market Holidays in 2022

List of NSE and BSE Stock Market Holidays in 2022
Indian stock exchanges — the National Stock Exchange (NSE) and BSE have published a list of holidays for the stock markets in 2022.

As per the list posted on the BSE website, in 2022 there are 13 trade holidays in total. In addition to Saturdays and Sundays, these are the days when the trade will not happen in 2022. On these trading holidays, no trade will happen on the equity sector, equity derivative segment and SLB segment.

Here is the complete list of trading holidays in 2022 except for Saturdays and Sundays which are trade holidays by default. Also, the second list gives the holidays falling on Saturdays and Sundays.

In January, there is only one holiday on January 26, Wednesday, on Republic Day. There are two holidays in March for Maha Shivratri and Holi on March 1, Tuesday and March 18, Friday. In April, there are two holidays on April 14, Thursday for Mahavir/Ambedkar Jayanti and on April 15, 2022 on Friday for Good Friday.

In the month of May, there is only one trade holiday on May 3, 2022, Tuesday for Ramzan Id. In June and July, there are no trading holidays except on Saturday and Sundays.


There are three holidays in August on August 9, 2022 (Tuesday), August 15 (Monday) and August 31 (Wednesday) for Muharram, Independence Day and Ganesh Chaturthi respectively.

There are no holidays on weekdays in September 2022. The three trading holidays in October are on October 05 (Wednesday), October 24 (Monday) and October 26 (Wednesday) for Dussehra, Diwali and Diwali Balipratipada respectively.

In November 2022, there is only one trading holiday on November 08, Tuesday for Gurunanak Jayanti. In December 2022, there are no trading holidays falling out of Saturdays and Sundays.

In total, five holidays in the year for Ram Navami, Maharashtra Day, Bakri Id, Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti and Christmas fall on Sundays and therefore there are no exclusive holidays declared for these events.

The stock exchanges might change or alter any of the holidays given in the list and any such changes will be notified through a separate circular issued in advance. Muhurat trading will be conducted. The timings of Muhurat trade will be announced through notifications subsequently.


List of stock market holidays in 2022:

Sl. NoDateDayHoliday Description
1January 26, 2022WednesdayRepublic Day
2March 01, 2022TuesdayMahashivratri
3March 18, 2022FridayHoli
4April 14, 2022ThursdayMahavir Jayanti / Dr.Baba Saheb Ambedkar Jayanti
5April 15, 2022FridayGood friday
6May 03, 2022TuesdayId-Ul-Fitr (Ramzan Id)
7August 09, 2022TuesdayMuharram
8August 15, 2022MondayIndependence Day
9August 31, 2022WednesdayGanesh Chaturthi
10October 05, 2022WednesdayDussehra
11October 24, 2022MondayDiwali & Laxmi Pujan
12October 26, 2022WednesdayDiwali Balipratipada
13November 08, 2022TuesdayGurunanak Jayanti

Trading holidays falling on Saturdays and Sundays in 2022

1April 10, 2022SundayRam Navami
2May 01, 2022SundayMaharashtra Day
3July 10, 2022SundayBakri Id
4October 02, 2022SundayMahatma Gandhi Jayanti
5December 25, 2022SundayChristmas