How to protect your privacy on Snapchat

Pixabay
Popular messaging app Snapchat was designed keeping user privacy in mind. One of the main features of the app is the disappearing photos and videos. Once a user posts a story, it is visible to friends for 24 hours and then it vanishes.

Another popular feature on the app is screenshot notification. When someone takes a screenshot of your story, you get a notification informing you about the screenshot. You can never be too careful while sharing personal pictures, so here are some privacy tips for Snapchat users.

Best Snapchat privacy tips

Enable two-factor authentication

  • Open Snapchat on your phone.
  • Click on the profile icon at the top left corner and then tap on the settings button.
  • Now, click on ‘Two-factor authentication’ and click ‘Continue’.
  • Now, set up two-factor authentication to protect your account.
Hide yourself from ‘Quick Add’

  • Open Snapchat, click on the profile icon and tap the settings button.
  • Scroll down and click on ‘See me in quick add’.
  • Now, click on ‘See me in Quick Add’ and your profile will no longer be shown to mutual friends.
Hide your location

  • Open your profile and click on ‘See my location’.
  • In the ‘Who can see my location’ section, select who you want to share your location with.
  • If you want to hide your location from everyone, select ‘Ghost Mode’.
Avoid sharing your Snapcode publicly

Snapcode is an easy way to share your contact information with friends. However, you must avoid posting it on social media platforms such as Facebook and Twitter as anyone can add you with this code. Only share your Snapcode with people you want to add.

Story privacy settings

  • Go to your profile and click on the settings icon.
  • Now, click on ‘View my Story’.
  • You can select from ‘Everyone’, ‘Friends Only’ and ‘Custom’.
Keep an eye on screenshot notifications

When someone screenshots a story shared by you, a notification will be sent to you. You will also be able to see ‘Took a screenshot of Chat!’ when you open the person’s chat. Keep an eye on screenshot notifications to know if one of your friends is saving your photos.

Stop others from finding you with your number

  • Go to your profile and click on settings.
  • Now, click on ‘Mobile Number’
  • Untick the box for ‘Let others find me using my mobile number’.
Stop others from finding you with your email

  • Go to your profile and click on settings.
  • Now, click on ‘Email’.
  • Untick the box for ‘Let others find me using my email address’.
Hide your birthday

  • Open your profile and click on settings.
  • Now, click on ‘Birthday’
  • Untick the box for ‘Birthday Party’.
How to delete Snapchat stories

  • Open Snapchat and go to the Stories tab.
  • Tap ‘My Story’ to view it.
  • Swipe up and tap the delete icon to delete your story.
See also:

Scammers are now using WhatsApp to steal money - here’s how you can protect yourself

How to block spam calls and register DND on Jio, Airtel and Vodafone

How to make the most out of your TikTok account
{{}}
Add Comment()
Comments ()
X
Sort By:
Be the first one to comment.
We have sent you a verification email. This comment will be published once verification is done.