How to deactivate your Facebook account on an iPhone

Advertisement
How to deactivate your Facebook account on an iPhone
Deactivating Facebook on your iPhone will log you out on every device. d8nn / Shutterstock.com
  • To deactivate Facebook on your iPhone, head to the app's Settings menu.
  • You can also delete your Facebook account from the same menu, or delete the app from your iPhone.
  • Once you've deactivated your Facebook account, you can reactivate it by logging back in.

Facebook, like most social media apps, can be incredibly addictive. If you've got a lot of Facebook friends, the infinitely scrolling News Feed might steal hours of your day away.

If you're having trouble managing your Facebook time, consider deactivating your account. Deactivating your Facebook account will log you out and hide your profile from others, but won't delete any of your data. It's a great way to take a break from Facebook without erasing your photos and posts.

It only takes a few moments to deactivate Facebook from the iPhone app. Here's how to do it.

Advertisement

How to deactivate Facebook on your iPhone

Note that once you deactivate your Facebook account here, it'll be deactivated on every device. If you're just looking to get Facebook off of your iPhone, consider deleting the app instead.

1. Open the Facebook app on your iPhone and tap the three line icon in the bottom-right corner.

2. Scroll down and tap Settings & Privacy, and then Settings.

Advertisement

How to deactivate your Facebook account on an iPhone
Open your Facebook account's settings. Facebook; William Antonelli/Insider

3. You'll now have to navigate through a few menus: Tap Personal and Account Information, then Account Ownership and Control, and then Deactivation and Deletion.

4. Facebook will give you the option to deactivate or delete your account. Tap Deactivate Account, and then Continue to Account Deactivation at the bottom of the screen.

Quick tip: Deactivation can be undone at any time, but account deletion is much more permanent. If you're interested in deleting your Facebook account instead, check out our guide on deleting Facebook while saving your data.

Advertisement

How to deactivate your Facebook account on an iPhone
Choose to deactivate or delete your Facebook account. Facebook; William Antonelli/Insider

5. Give the reason you're deactivating your account and tap Continue, then enter your password.

You'll be logged out of your account, and you should receive an email saying your account has been deactivated.

Advertisement

If you ever want to reactivate the account, you just have to open Facebook and log back in. Your profile will be restored right away.

How to deactivate Facebook Messenger on your phone and stop receiving chat messages How to unlink your Instagram accounts from Facebook or each other How to change your birthday on Facebook using the website or app How to create a Facebook business page, with 8 set-up tips to grow your brand
{{}}