list of Holiday Calendar 2020 For India

list of Holiday Calendar 2020 For India
Holidays are one thing all of us wait for -- to get a break from the monotony and also pursue hobbies and leisure time activities.

India declares holidays on national festivals and that of various religions. The major religions practiced in India are Hinduism, Islam, Christianity, Buddhism, Jainism and Sikhism. The major festivals of all these religions are declared as holidays.

TOP VIDEOS FOR YOU
India therefore has a long list of public holidays. The most popular public holidays in India are Republic Day, India’s Independence Day and Gandhi Jayanti. In India, there are two types of holidays namely gazetted holidays and restricted holidays with the former applicable all over the country and the latter applicable in some states and regions.

Advertisement

Here is a list of holidays in India for 2020 to enable you plan your schedule.


Date and DayHoliday Description
Jan 01, 2020 (Wednesday) New Year's Day
Jan 15, 2020 (Wednesday) Makar Sankranti / Pongal
Jan 26, 2020 (Sunday) Republic Day
Feb 19, 2020 (Wednesday) Shivaji Jayanti
Feb 21, 2020 (Friday) Maha Shivaratri
Mar 10, 2020 (Tuesday) Holi
Mar 25, 2020 (Wednesday) Ugadi / Gudi Padwa
Apr 02, 2020 (Thursday) Ram Navami
Apr 06, 2020 (Monday) Mahavir Jayanti
Apr 10, 2020 (Friday) Good Friday
May 01, 2020 (Friday) Labor Day
May 07, 2020 (Thursday) Budhha Purnima
May 25, 2020 (Monday) Eid-ul-Fitr
June 23, 2020 (Tuesday) Rath Yatra
Aug 01, 2020 (Saturday) Bakri Id / Eid ul-Adha
Aug 03, 2020 (Monday) Raksha Bandhan
Aug 12, 2020 (Wednesday) Janmashtami
Aug 15, 2020 (Saturday) Independence Day
Aug 22, 2020 (Saturday) Vinayaka Chaturthi
Aug 30, 2020 (Sunday) Muharram
Aug 31, 2020 (Monday) Onam
Oct 02, 2020 (Friday) Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
Oct 25, 2020 (Sunday) Dussehra / Dasara
Oct 30, 2020 (Friday) Milad un Nabi
Nov 4, 2020 (Wednesday) Karva Chauth
Nov 14, 2020 (Saturday) Diwali / Deepavali
Nov 15, 2020 (Sunday) Govardhan Puja
Nov 16, 2020 (Monday) Bhai Dooj
Nov 30, 2020 (Monday) Guru Nanak's Birthday
Dec 25, 2020 (Friday) Christmas


Advertisement

Note: Holidays differ from state to state. The following list is only a general guideline. You need to consult your state holidays for more accurate planning.


Holidays and planning our life

Planning well for holidays can be very helpful so that we do not miss out on making the most of them. For example, if you go on a tour, planning well in advance can help you make the bookings in advance and avoid the last minute disappointments and delays.
Advertisement

Being aware of bank holidays will let you plan your financial transactions in advance.



{{}}