scorecard
  1. Home
  2. life
  3. news
  4. What to read after 'A Court of Thorns and Roses' gives you a book hangover

What to read after 'A Court of Thorns and Roses' gives you a book hangover

What to read after 'A Court of Thorns and Roses' gives you a book hangover
LifeThelife1 min read
Insider rounded up books for fans of "A Court of Thorns and Roses."Entangled Publishing/Angry Robot Books/Carissa Broadbent/Hachette Book Group
  • If you binged "A Court of Thorns and Roses" by Sarah J. Maas, you may be looking for similar books.
  • Insider rounded up some of the best fantasy romance books for fans of the series.

When Sarah J. Maas' "A Court of Thorns and Roses" popped up on my Goodreads suggestions in the summer of 2021, I downloaded it immediately.

My teen years were defined by the fantasy books that lined my shelves, particularly those like "Twilight" that wove romance into stories about mythical creatures, so I figured an adult romance novel about faeries would be right up my alley.

I devoured "ACOTAR" in one sitting, and I quickly bought the other installments in Maas' series, greedy to read more about Feyre Archeron's adventures in Prythian, a war-torn land full of magic and mayhem.

I finished the entire series in less than a week, and as I closed the page on "A Court of Silver Flames," I was distraught. I wanted another Maas book or novel like it immediately, and I wasn't sure where to start looking.

Luckily, I've managed to find multiple fantasy romance novels that give me the same feeling "ACOTAR" does in the last two years, so if you've found yourself in the same position, look no further.

Here's my list of what to read after you finish "A Court of Thorns and Roses."

"A Court of Mist and Fury" by Sarah J. Maas

"A Court of Mist and Fury" by Sarah J. Maas
"A Court of Mist and Fury" by Sarah J. Maas.      Bloomsbury

If you read "A Court of Thorns and Roses" and somehow didn't know it was a multi-book series, you'll definitely want to follow up the first installment with "A Court of Mist and Fury."

After her time under the mountain, Feyre is completely transformed, and she isn't sure it's for the better. Sure, she may be a powerful fae, but her soul feels shattered after she inadvertently caused the death of two innocents. And even though she and Tamlin have been reunited, Feyre feels more distant from him than ever.

She feels the walls closing in on her as her wedding to Tamlin grows closer — until Rhysand arrives to make good on her deal to join him at the Night Court for a week every month. The elusive High Lord of the Night Court encourages Feyre to tap into her newfound power, guiding her as dark forces she never imagined threaten her and everyone she loves.

As Feyre adjusts to being a faerie, she'll have to choose between the life expected of her and the life she wants.

Find out more about this book here.

"Throne of Glass" by Sarah J. Maas

"Throne of Glass" by Sarah J. Maas
"Throne of Glass" by Sarah J. Maas.      Bloomsbury Publishing

If you already finished the "ACOTAR" series, you'll love "Throne of Glass," Maas' first magical series about faeries.

At only 18, Celaena Sardothien has made a name for herself as the most famous assassin in Adarlan, a kingdom where magic disappeared years ago. But her notoriety came back to bite her, as Celaena finds herself wasting away at Endovier, a prison camp.

When the crown prince of Adarlan offers her a chance at freedom if she is willing to compete to become the king's champion by defeating 23 other criminals, she has no choice but to agree, as it's her only shot at a free life.

Celaena was born to fight, but as the other competitors start dying mysteriously around her, she will have to confront the pain of her past to face the battles ahead.

Find out more about this book here.

"House of Earth and Blood" by Sarah J. Maas

"House of Earth and Blood" by Sarah J. Maas
"House of Earth and Blood" by Sarah J. Maas.      Bloomsbury

"Crescent City" is Maas' third series, and she has written two installments so far. The third, "House of Flame and Shadow," will be released in January 2024.

In "House of Earth and Blood," half-fae Bryce Quinlan is at a crossroads, grieving the murder of her best friends by a demon.

She believes the killer was apprehended, but when similar murders start taking place in Crescent City, Bryce agrees to investigate the deaths with Hunt Athalar, a Fallen Angel who has been enslaved for hundreds of years by the all-powerful Archangels after an attempted coup.

The stubborn, beautiful half-fae is Hunt's ticket to freedom, but they're not prepared for what they find as they look into the murders — or the connection that forms between them.

"House of Earth and Blood" has all the faerie fun of "A Court of Thorns and Roses," plus touches of modern technology.

Find out more about this book here.

"The Serpent and the Wings of Night" by Carissa Broadbent

"The Serpent and the Wings of Night" by Carissa Broadbent
"The Serpent and the Wings of Night" by Carissa Broadbent.      Carissa Broadbent

Carissa Broadbent's "The Serpent and the Wings of Night" has all the fun of "A Court of Thorns and Roses," but it will also appeal to "Twilight" fans because vampires are at the center of the novel.

Oraya has been fighting to survive since the Nightborn vampire king adopted her when she was a human child. Her world is full of threats, and her only hope of reprieve is winning the Kejari, a once-in-a-generation tournament where the champion is granted a wish from the goddess of death, Nyaxia.

Oraya intends to stay away from the other vampires in the competition, but she finds herself with no choice but to ally with Raihn, an annoyingly handsome vampire from a rival house.

What's worse, she discovers she actually likes Raihn as the competition goes on, which is inconvenient as war looms between the houses. As Oraya tries to determine who she can trust, she discovers shadows from her past have more impact on her future than she could have anticipated.

Find out more about this book here.

"From Blood and Ash" by Jennifer L. Armentrout

"From Blood and Ash" by Jennifer L. Armentrout
"From Blood and Ash" by Jennifer L. Armentrout.      Blue Box Press

From the moment she was born, Poppy has been more than just a girl. She is the Maiden, and she has known her entire life she will be given to the gods the moment she turns 19 to help turn humans into Ascended, powerful, immortal beings that rule the kingdom of Solis.

Because she is the Maiden, she cannot be touched by anyone, and she lives mostly in solitude under the watchful eye of Solis' royalty. At 18, Poppy is lonely, and she isn't sure she can bear the weight of the kingdom on her shoulders.

Then, mere months before her Ascension, Poppy meets Hawke, a new guard who makes her yearn and question the life she has agreed to live.

But the Ascended, Hawke, and nearly everyone around Poppy aren't what they seem, and she risks putting her trust in the wrong person at every turn. As she finds herself more drawn to Hawke than ever, she may realize her heart is what's left her most vulnerable.

The first installment in Jennifer L. Armentrout's "Blood and Ash" series is a gripping and sexy fantasy full of twists and turns.

Find out more about this book here.

"A Shadow in the Ember" by Jennifer L. Armentrout

"A Shadow in the Ember" by Jennifer L. Armentrout
"A Shadow in the Ember" by Jennifer L. Armentrout.      Jennifer L. Armentrout

I love "From Blood and Ash," but I think Armentrout's prequel to the series, "A Shadow in the Ember," is even more gripping and tantalizing.

To the world, Seraphena Mierel is the Maiden, chosen to be the Primal of Death's wife before she was even born. But to the royal family's inner circle, she is their only hope — an assassin trained to kill the Primal to stop a Rot from decimating her country.

But when she finally meets the Primal of Death, he's nothing like Sera expected. And when he touches her, killing him is the last thing on her mind. But will what she wants matter if she can't save her people?

Find out more about this book here.

"Fourth Wing" by Rebecca Yarros

"Fourth Wing" by Rebecca Yarros
"Fourth Wing" by Rebecca Yarros.      Entangled Publishing

Rebecca Yarros' "Fourth Wing" is the first installment in the "The Empyrean" series, and it has all the steamy romance and adventure adult fantasy romance readers are looking for.

It follows Violet Sorrengail, a 20-year-old who grew up thinking she would enter the Scribe Quadrant when she came of age. But instead, her mother, who is the general of Navarre, forces her to enter the Rider Quadrant, where she must train to become a dragon rider — or die.

The odds are stacked against Violet, as she was born with a particularly fragile body, and she hasn't spent her life training to be a rider like the others in her class, most of whom would be willing to kill her for their own chance at survival.

Violet not only has to find a way to survive her studies and the war looming in her country, but she also has to deal with Xaden Riorson, her wing leader, a powerful dragon rider, and a stunningly handsome man who has every reason to want Violet dead.

As she struggles through training, Violet will have to outwit her enemies and decide if a life she never expected is worth fighting for.

Find out more about this book here.

"A Promise of Fire" by Amanda Bouchet

"A Promise of Fire" by Amanda Bouchet
"A Promise of Fire" by Amanda Bouchet.      Amazon

Amanda Bouchet's "A Promise of Fire" was first released in 2016, but it's been getting attention in recent months after Bouchet released a sister novel, "A Curse of Queens," in 2022.

The first installment of the "Kingmaker Chronicles" introduces readers to Cat Fisa, a woman who has been blessed by the gods with the power of the Kingmaker, giving her the ability to know when anyone is lying.

Cat has been running from her power for years, masquerading as a soothsayer for a traveling circus. But when Griffin, second-in-command of the new royal family, spots her, he knows exactly what she is, and he'll do anything to keep her by his side to strengthen his family's fledgling power.

Cat doesn't make it easy for Griffin, fighting him tooth and nail even though powerful forces are telling her she should stay with him. And as the attraction between them grows, it becomes difficult for both Cat and Griffin to deny they belong together.

Find out more about this book here.

"The Cruel Prince" by Holly Black

"The Cruel Prince" by Holly Black
"The Cruel Prince" by Holly Black.      Hachette Book Group

Being a human in a faerie world isn't all it's cracked up to be. But Jude has no choice, as she and her sisters were forced to live in the High Court of the Fae after their parents were murdered before their eyes.

Jude hates feeling lesser than the magical creatures around her, and no one makes her feel smaller than Prince Cardan — who also happens to be the most beautiful fae she's ever seen. She makes it her mission to rise up in the fae ranks, no matter the cost.

But when Jude finds herself embroiled in a battle for the safety of her sisters and the fae, she finds there's more to the prince than she ever knew.

The first installment in Holly Black's "The Folk of the Air" series, "Cruel Prince" is a mysterious and sexy page-turner that fans of the enemies-to-lovers trope and fantasy will love.

Find out more about this book here.

"Ledge" by Stacey McEwan

"Ledge" by Stacey McEwan
"Ledge" by Stacey McEwan.      Angry Robot Books

Just like "A Court of Thorns and Roses," I saw "Ledge" making the rounds on TikTok before I read it, so it's no surprise it was also a hit.

The Ledge is all Dawsyn has ever known. Her life exists in the limits of the frozen clifftop, and time is marked by visits from Glacians, evil creatures that look like winged humans who steal Ledge dwellers from the land multiple times per year.

When Dawsyn is taken by the Glacians, she knows she has to escape the monsters, even though their plans for her are a mystery. She has no choice but to accept help from Ryon, a half-Glacian who offers her a path down the mountain the Glacians castle sits on.

Escape is the only thing on Dawsyn's mind, and she isn't prepared for what reaching the human lands at the bottom of the mountain could bring — or for the feelings Ryon will stir in her.

Find out more about this book here.

"Red Queen" by Victoria Aveyard

"Red Queen" by Victoria Aveyard
"Red Queen" by Victoria Aveyard.      HarperCollins Publishers

There are two kinds of people in Mare Barrow's world: mortals with red blood, and superhero-like people with silver blood who possess magical powers and rule over the reds.

Mare is prepared to live out her life as a normal human until she discovers that she has magical abilities despite her red blood — in a room full of silvers. The show of impossible supernatural power leads the king to create a ruse in which Mare must pretend to be a lost silver princess and marry one of the king's sons.

The decision sets Mare on a path of deceit and double agency as she works to get information for the Scarlet Guard, a red resistance movement, while she's in the halls of the castle, and things only grow more complicated as she feels herself falling for both of the king's sons in Victoria Aveyard's "Red Queen."

Find out more about this book here.

"The Song of Achilles" by Madeline Miller

"The Song of Achilles" by Madeline Miller
"The Song of Achilles" by Madeline Miller.      Harper Collins

Despite the title, "The Song of Achilles" by Madeline Miller actually follows the life of Achilles' closest companion, Patroclus, who is best known in mythology for his death, which drives Achilles mad with grief.

Miller puts a fresh lens on the well-known tale, focusing on the rivalry between Achilles and Patroclus that develops in their boyhood.

Their feud soon becomes friendship and then something more, and the duo have to reckon with what their feelings for each other mean as Achilles faces a fatal prophecy about his involvement in the Trojan War.

"The Song of Achilles" is both a war story and a beautiful look at first love, making Homer's epic accessible and meaningful in a whole new way.

Find out more about this book here.

Newsletter BI Logo
BI NEWSLETTER

Get your weekly dose of essential news delivered right to you, plus explore a world of insights with our diverse newsletter subscription options.

  • Weekly newsletter
  • Uncover the latest in Tech, Finance, Business, and more
  • Handpicked web stories, in-depth articles, and expert analyses
Copylink BI



Advertisement