Snapchat’s Friend Check Up feature lets you quickly clean your friends list

Snapchat’s Friend Check Up feature lets you quickly clean your friends list
Time to prune your friends list on SnapchatPixabay
  • Snapchat’s new Friend Check Up feature lets you review your friends list with a single tap.
  • If you have added somebody long ago and don’t want them to see your posts or Snap Map, you might want to remove them from your list.
  • Alternatively, you can also adjust your privacy settings to make sure only a select few friends can view your posts.
  • The Friend Check Up feature will start rolling out to Android and iOS devices in the coming weeks and months.
Ephemeral messaging app Snapchat has announced a new feature that lets you quickly clean your friends list. This is important as some Snapchat features like Snap Map show your location, and your stories can be viewed by your friends depending on your privacy settings.

The Friend Check Up feature simply displays a reminder to clean your friends list. The reminder is displayed just below your name in the profile page. Tapping on it opens your friends list and you can then check out which friends you’d like to keep or remove.

Pruning your friends list, especially on apps like Snapchat, is important as you might not want to show your posts to somebody in your list.

Advertisement
Snapchat has always claimed that it is for ‘close friends’, so this should not surprise anyone. Over time the company has tried to further distinguish itself from Facebook, which is a large megaphone in comparison.

Snap says that the new friend check up feature will roll out to Android users ‘in the coming weeks’ and to iOS users ‘in the coming months’. However, you don’t have to depend on this feature to check your friends list and remove any friends you want to.

To view your friends list on Snapchat, follow these steps:

Advertisement

  1. Open Snapchat and tap on your profile icon.
  2. Now tap on ‘My Friends’ and review the list of friends.
To remove a friend, follow these steps:

  1. Tap and hold on the name of your friend.
  2. Now tap on ‘More’ from the list.
  3. Tap on ‘Remove Friend’.
SEE ALSO:

Twitter ramps up roll out of 'Spaces' to take on Clubhouse

Snapchat is gaining traction in India as it hits 265 million daily active users

How to use Snapchat to communicate with friends in various ways on the multimedia messaging app
{{}}