scorecard
  1. Home
  2. tech
  3. Mobile
  4. news
  5. You can now reset and erase your locked iPhone, iPad without a Mac or a PC — here's how

You can now reset and erase your locked iPhone, iPad without a Mac or a PC — here's how

You can now reset and erase your locked iPhone, iPad without a Mac or a PC — here's how
  • Apple has introduced a Security Lockout feature with iOS and iPadOS update.
  • Users on iOS 15.2 and iPadOS 15.2 can now reset their iPhones and iPads without using a Mac or PC.
  • To perform the reset action natively on your Apple device, follow the steps below.
Apple with its latest iOS 15 update has made it possible for users to reset and erase all data from their locked iPhones and iPads without connecting them to a Mac or PC.

With the iOS 15.2 and iPadOS 15.2 updates, users will be able to use this feature called Security Lockout. This can be really helpful for users who have forgotten their passcodes and are locked out of their iPhones and iPads.

Earlier, users had to connect their locked iPhone or iPad to a Mac or PC to reset them. This is now easier thanks to the Security Lockout feature that has been added in the iOS 15.2 or iPadOS 15.2 update, as initially spotted by 9to5Mac.

Security Lockout is enabled when you enter a wrong passcode multiple times on your device. However, to perform the reset, your device must be connected to cellular or Wi-Fi networks.

Although it may seem that strangers can erase your data with this feature, that's not the case as it requires your Apple ID to complete the process. If you are wondering how it’s done, follow these steps to reset your iPhone and IPad natively.

Here’s how to reset and erase your locked iPhone, iPad without a Mac or a PC.
  • After you repeatedly enter the wrong passcode on your iPhone or iPad, you will see the Security Lockout mode become active on the device’s screen.
  • Now, tap on the Erase iPhone (or Erase iPad) button at the bottom of your screen.
  • Tap the Erase button once again to confirm.
  • Next, enter your Apple ID password to sign out of it on your device.
  • Tap Erase iPhone (or Erase iPad) to permanently delete all of your data and settings.
  • This will reset your iPhone or iPad and erase all data.
You should note that this will erase all data on your device, so do not forget to take a backup before you use this feature. When your device restarts, you can follow the onscreen instructions to set it up again. You can restore your data and settings from a backup, and set a new passcode.

This feature is only available on iOS 15.2 and iPadOS 15.2. So if you are still using previous iOS or iPadOS versions, you will need to update it to the latest version.

SEE ALSO:
Oppo Find N vs Samsung Galaxy Z Fold3 — Battle of the foldables
Checkout chip makers’ stocks that surged on PLI scheme; industry leaders feel the move will make India self-reliant

READ MORE ARTICLES ON


Popular Right Now




Advertisement