China has renamed six places in Arunachal; India furious

Read full story

China has announced its decision to standardise the official names for six places in Arunachal Pradesh, calling this provoking move as "legitimate."

The state-run media of the neighbouring country has said that the move would reaffirm China's claim over Arunachal Pradesh , which it claims as 'South Tibet'.

"China's Ministry of Civil Affairs announced on April 14 that it had standardised in Chinese characters, Tibetan and Roman alphabet the names of six places in 'South Tibet', which India calls ' Arunachal Pradesh ', in accordance with the regulations of the central government," reported Global Times.

Also read: South China Sea verdict could rule Sino-India Arunachal dispute in India's favour

These six places have now been renamed to Wo'gyainling, Mila Ri, Qoidengarbo Ri, Mainquka, Bumo La and Namkapub Ri.

It's been only a few days that China had expressed its displeasure over India hosting the Dalai Lama in Arunachal Pradesh . It was then that China had warned India of "necessary measures" to defend its territorial sovereignty and interests.

During the visit, Union Minister of State for Home Affairs Kiren Rijiju , had asserted the state to be "an inseparable part of India".

(Image source TopRankers)
Add Comment()

Comments ()

Sort By:
Be the first one to comment.
We have sent you a verification email. This comment will be published once verification is done.