Gujarat exit poll 2019 for Lok Sabha Elections

It looks like the BJP will have a strong showing in Gujarat again. While it may not be a clean sweep like in 2014, most exit polls predict that the Congress won't get more than a seat. Any other parties will also be shut out.

The victory in Gujarat, which was expected, is an important one for BJP. The party's president, Amit Shah, is contesting from the Gandhinagar constituency.


Gujarat Exit Poll
Party NamesIndia Today AxisTimesNow - VMRTodays's ChanakyaIPSOS
BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party)26232525
INC (Indian National Congress)0311

Business Insider compiled surveys from five reputed sources-- Republic-C -Voter, News 18, Todays Chanakya, India Today-Axis, and TimesNow - VMR-- amongst many others and the final number is an average of these five polls.

Gujarat is a western state in the Indian democracy which is the sixth largest in the country in terms of its area and the ninth largest in terms of its population. Spread over an area of 196,030 square kilometers and having a very long coastline of 1,600 kilometers, Gujarat has an eligible voting population of 4,47,69,985 consisting of 2,32,80,542 males, 2,14,88,390 females and 1053 third gender electors.


In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP had a sweeping victory from the state by winning all the 26 seats. In 2009 elections the BJP got 15 seats from here and in 2004, it had bagged 14 constituencies. The Congress party got 11 seats in 2009 and 12 seats in 2004 for the Parliament. Right from 1996 elections, all the Lok Sabha seats in Gujarat were only divided between BJP and Congress with no other parties or candidates able to claim their share.

There are 26 Lok Sabha seats in the state of Gujarat and so the state sends 26 MPs to represent it during every Parliamentary election. The number of reserved constituencies in the state are 2 for scheduled castes and 4 for the scheduled tribes. Gujarat can send 11 Rajya Sabha members as its representatives. There are 183 assembly seats in Gujarat. All of them went for polling during the last assembly elections that were held in December.