TMC lok Sabha Election result 2019: BJP is putting up a tough fight in West Bengal

West BengalLeads - 42/42

The All India Trinamool Congress (TMC) was ahead of the BJP in early trends in West Bengal with nine seats, according to Election Commission. The Bharatiya Janata Party leading on 17 seats.

The Times Now Exit Poll Predictions had said Mamta Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress might not do as well as it did in 2014 elections. The projections forecast TMC winning from 28 out of 42 seats in West Bengal. Though the vote share of TMC might remain the same in 2019 Lok Sabha election result as it was in 2014, the predictions presuppose that the TMC’s seats might be down by about 6 this time. In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the TMC got 34 seats out of 42. The remaining 8 seats were distributed among the other contesting parties at the rate of 2 for BJP, 4 for the Congress party and 2 for the left front led by the CPI (M).

If the Times Now Predictions match with the actual turnout after the results are announced, the BJP might be winning 11 seats from West Bengal in 2019 Lok Sabha elections, while the party could get only 2 seats during 2014 general elections from this state.

The TMC contested from all the 42 constituencies in West Bengal. While choosing the candidates to represent the party in 2019 elections from this state, Mamta Banerjee had decided to drop 10 sitting MPs and getting in 18 new candidates. Besides the 42 seats in West Bengal, TMC contested from 3 seats in Jharkhand, 2 seats in Odisha, 2 seats in Bihar, and 1 seat in Andamans. TMC has also decided to let its candidates try their luck from 10 assembly constituencies in Odisha as the state of Odisha is going for assembly and Lok Sabha 2019 polls simultaneously.

The Party’s sitting MP Abhishek Banerjee, the nephew of Mamta Banerjee, the TMC chief faced the elections once more from Diamond Harbor, his winning constituency. The celebrity candidate of TMV Mimi Chakraborty contested from Jadavpur. Yet another star candidate of TMC Nusrat Jahan fought from Basirhat Lok Sabha constituency.

Add Comment()
Comments ()
Sort By:
Be the first one to comment.
We have sent you a verification email. This comment will be published once verification is done.