Maharashtra Lok Sabha Elections 2019: BJP wins 1 seat, leads in 22; Sena leads in 18

Maharashtra Lok Sabha Elections 2019: BJP wins 1 seat, leads in 22; Sena leads in 18

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has already won a seat in Maharashtra, and leading in 22 others. Their poll partner Shiv Sena is leading in 18 seats of 48 seats, while Congress and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) alliance is leading in 5, while others are leading in 1.

Maharashtra Won Leads
BJP 1 22
Shiv Sena 0 18
NCP 0 4
Others 0 1
Congress 0 1

Counting has commenced at 8 am, while electronic voting machines counting started at 8:30 am.


Shiv Sena and BJP combine is expected to sweep the state, winning over 35 seats according to most exit polls. A few of them even believe that Sena and BJP would win over 40 seats. Congress is expected to win less than ten seats or just make it to ten, according to the poll of polls.

Maharashtra contributes a huge chunk of 48 seats for the Lok Sabha. The state’s election results can play a significant role in deciding who will form the government in the center. During the Lok Sabha elections 2019, 7 seats of Maharashtra went for polling on April 11, ten seats voted on April 18, the polling in 14 seats were held on April 23 and the remaining 17 seats voted for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections on April 29.

During 2014 general elections, the NDA won 43 seats from Maharashtra, which was the highest from the state for any alliance formed in the national scene so far. With its 49 seats, the state is in the second place to contribute the maximum number of seats for the parliament following the UP which has 80 seats in total.

The key candidates seen contesting from the different constituencies of Maharashtra and waiting for the results include Nitin Gadkari of BJP from Nagpur, Hansraj Ahir of BJP from Chandrapur, Ashok Chawan of Congress from Nanded, Anand Adsul of Shiv Sena from Amravati, Sushil Kumar Shinde of Congress from Solapur, Raju Shetty who switched from BJP to the Mahagatbandhan contesting from Hatkanangale, and Supriya Sule of NCP from Baramati.