Breaking down each of BJP’s Eight seats in Delhi

Breaking down each of BJP’s Eight seats in Delhi
  • The Aam Aadmi Party is set for a second full term in Delhi, after winning with a massive lead.
  • The BJP has a mere 8 seats in the assembly.
  • One of BJP’s big guns – Vijendra Gupta managed to retain his seat from Rohini.
The Aam Aadmi Party is set for a second full term in Delhi, after winning with a massive lead. AAP secured 62 seats out of the 70 seats in the Delhi Assembly, leaving the national party BJP with a mere 8 seats.


I love you, says Arvind Kejriwal

Euphoric after the win, Arvind Kejriwal, who is set to come back for a second ‘full’ term as the Delhi Chief Minister addressed the AAP party workers. Kejriwal began his speech by saying “I love you” to Delhi. “This is the victory of every family who has been getting education, electricity and medical facilities,” he said.

Meanwhile, Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari, who had earlier claimed responsibility for the party’s performance in the national capital extended a magnanimous gesture. He congratulated Arvind Kejriwal on Twitter. He wrote, “Thank you to all the voters of Delhi. Thank you to all the workers for their hard work…. @ArvindKejriwal Congratulations Ji .. (sic)”.

Here are a few seats and winners of BJP

BJP wins

Kapil Mishra’s loss reflects in Karawal Nagar

In Karawal Nagar, BJP’s Mohan Singh Bisht is leading over Durgesh Pathak by 6,253 votes. In 2015, AAP had won the seat with Kapil Mishra as the candidate with a margin of over 44,431 votes. Mishra is a former AAP leader who defected to BJP in 2019. He had accused CM Kejriwal and health minister Satyender Jain of corruption and rebelled against the party in 2017.

Close fight in Laxmi Nagar

There’s a close fight in Laxmi Nagar where Abhay Verma from the BJP is leading by 880 votes over AAP’s Nitin Tyagi. Tyagi had won the 2015 assembly elections by a margin of 4846 votes. Verma is the Vice President of Delhi BJP. He is an advocate with total assets of ₹1.7 crore.

Incumbent AAP leader Sarita Singha trails

Jitender Mahajan of BJP from Rohtas Nagar who was up against incumbent Sarita Singh, AAP, is leading by 13,458 votes. In the 2015 Assembly elections, Singh won by a margin of 7874 votes by beating Mahajan.

Anil Kumar Bajpai’s lead transcends parties

BJP’s Anil Kumar Bajpai is leading in the Gandhi Nagar constituency by 5798 votes. He is leading over Naveen Chaudhry of AAP while also leaving behind Congress stalwart Arvinder Singh Lovely. Interestingly, Bajpai had won the same seat last time by 7482 seats but for AAP. He retains the seat but on behalf of the BJP.

BJP might win back Ghonda

In Ghonda, Ajay Mahawar from BJP has a 22,487-votes lead over the incumbent AAP legislator Shridutt Sharma. In the 2015 assembly elections, Sharma had defeated BJP to win the seat.

BJP losses

In the Mustafabad constituency, Haji Yunus of AAP has won by 20,704 votes over BJP’s Jagdish Pradhan.In the 2015 elections, Pradhan had won the sea with a margin of 6031 votes.

BJP retains

Vijender Gupta guns for a comeback

Sitting MLA Vijender Gupta is gunning for a comeback from the Rohini constituency. Gupta is BJP’s big bet from the constituency for the Delhi Assembly elections 2020. He is up against Sumesh Gupta of Congress and Rajesh Nama Bansiwala of AAP. In the last assembly elections, Gupta was one of the three BJP candidates to manage to win. He had defeated AAP’s CL Gupta by 5,000 votes.

“This time the BJP government will definitely be formed. Modiji has done a lot of work in the country,” Gupta had said earlier.

BJP’s faith in Om Prakash brings home its first win

BJP’s candidate from Vishwas Nagar, Om Prakash Sharma was the first confirmed win according to the Election Commission website. For Sharma, this is the second term as MLA for he had also won during the 2015 assembly elections.

See Also:
I love you", Arvind Kejriwal's first words in his first speech after winning a second full term as Delhi Chief Minister