Delhi Lok Sabha Election Result 2019: BJP leading in all seven seats

Delhi Lok Sabha Election Result 2019:  BJP leading in all seven seats
Voters show their inked fingers after casting their vote in India's capital city, DelhiBCCL

Delhi -- NCTLeads 7/7

Data from Election Commission

The results of the Lok Sabha election in India are finally going to be announced today and in the country’s national capital, Delhi, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) seems to be poised to win most of the seats according to exit polls conducted by Times Now VMR, India Today Axis, and Today's Chanakya.

The Election Commission shows BJP's star power working in its favour with former cricketer Gautam Gambhir leading in East Delhi, singer Hans Raj Hans emerging ahead in North West Delhi and Manoj Tiwari working his magic in North East Delhi.

Even BJP's non-star candidates, Ramesh Bidhuri is leading in South Delhi with 27,641 votes and Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma is racing head in West Delhi with 34,608 votes.

These are initial leads and the final results will be shared by the Election Commission by the end of the day.


While some surveys say that Congress might be able to win one seat out from under the BJP, others see a repeat of the Lok Sabha Election in 2014 with all the seats going to India’s saffron party.

Delhi proudly houses the parliament, the ruling center from where the country’s legislatures are made. Over the past few elections, the statistics show that the voting preferences of the electors in the city and the results in these constituencies have been clearly reflecting the moods of the voters across the country. Hence the party that wins from the majority of constituencies in Delhi was only seen forming the government.

During 2014 general elections for the parliament, the BJP won from all the seven seats in Delhi and eventually marched proudly to form the government. In 2009 Lok Sabha elections, the Congress had bagged all the seven seats and went to form the government. Looking deeper still, the West Delhi constituency has been striking the right chord over the past 11 parliamentary elections.

North West Delhi has been selecting the candidate of the party that would form the government in 10 out of 11 Lok Sabha elections. In 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Pravesh Verma of BJP is fighting in West Delhi constituency against Mahabal Mishra of INC and Balbir Singh Jakhar of AAP. In the North West Delhi seat, Hansraj Hans of BJP is contesting with Rajesh Lilothia of Congress and Guggan Singh of AAP.