Here's how to opt out of the new Instagram feature that lets random users post your pictures to their story

InstagramBusiness Insider

Instagram launched a new feature on Thursday that lets users take photos in their feeds that were posted by others, and add them to their own stories.

It's a great opportunity for influencers hoping to get more exposure for their content, and for regular users who enjoy having their pictures potentially go viral. If you're neither of those however, it might be alarming to know that your account is automatically set to allow this kind of sharing.

It's only available to Android users for now, so iPhone users won't immediately notice the change (it'll hit the iPhone "soon," Instagram told Mashable), but unknowing iPhone users on Instagram can still have their pictures shared on other people's stories.

To use, it, Instagram accounts with access to this feature can tap on the paper airplane icon under images in their feed and select "Create a story with this post," which now appears at the top of the "Share" list. Once the user has done that, the picture will be seen by anyone who views their story, including followers and - if it's a public profile - anyone who happens upon their account.

If this is something you're uncomfortable with, there are two ways to proactively opt-out of it.

{{}}
Add Comment()
Comments ()
X
Sort By:
Be the first one to comment.
We have sent you a verification email. This comment will be published once verification is done.