Delhi election result 2020: EC confirms AAP's victory in 62 seats while BJP backs 8 of 70 assembly seats

An elderly Muslim shows the indelible ink mark on his finger after casting his vote at a polling station in the old quarters of New Delhi, India, Saturday, Feb. 8, 2020. Voting began for a crucial state election in India's capital on Saturday with Prime Minister Narendra Modi's Hindu nationalist party trying to regain power after a 22-and major victories in a national vote. The BJP campaign has reopened old wounds in the Hindu-Muslim divide and treats the election as a referendum on nearly two months of protests across India against a new citizenship law that excludes Muslims. (AP Photo/Manish Swarup)
  • Om Prakash Sharma of Vishwas Nagar from BJP wins, first seat from the party to be confirmed.
  • EC confirms wins for AAP in 5 seats -- Abdul Rehman from Seelampur, Ajay Dutt from Ambedkar join the list.
  • EC confirms Raghav Chadha's win from Rajinder Nagar constituency by 20058 votes
  • Deputy CM Manish Sisodia is leading with over 2000 votes from the Patparganj constituency.
  • Arvind Kejriwal seems set to Delhi Chief Minister for a second straight term at 12 noon.
  • Congress' vote share has fallen closer to 4% showing complete decimation.
  • BJP has reclaimed seats from AAP in places like Bawana and Karawal Nagar, largely hit by defection to BJP.
  • The leading candidate, irrespective of the party, has less than 100 votes, in at least 5 constituencies.
  • The voter's verdict from India's national capital will decide whether Arvind Kejriwal will get a second term as Chief Minister.
  • All exit polls have handed the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) a clear victory and the voter turnout fell to 62.59% compared to 67.13% five years ago.
  • Catch all the live action from the counting day here on Business Insider.

Update at 9:35pm: EC confirms AAP is leading in 3 seats and won 59 while BJP has won 8.

Update at 6:55pm: EC confirms AAP is leading in 16 seats and won 46 while BJP has leads in 3 and won 5 at 6:55 pm.

Update at 4:55pm: EC confirms AAP win in 18 seats with BJP trailing behind with one confirmed seat.


Update at 4:00 pm: Om Prakash Sharma of Vishwas Nagar from BJP wins, first seat from the party to be confirmed.

Update at 3:45 pm: EC confirms wins for AAP in 5 seats -- Abdul Rehman from Seelampur, Ajay Dutt from Ambedkar join the list.

Update a t 3:40 pm: "This is the beginning of a new kind of politics. This is a new sign," said Kejriwal.


Update at 3.37 pm: Arvind Kejriwal says 'I love you' to Delhi after a historic win. "This is the victory of every family who has been getting education, electricity and medical facilities," he said.

Update at 3:21 pm: EC confirms wins for AAP's Raaj Kumar Anand from Patel Nagar and Mukesh Kumar Ahlawat from Sultanpur Majra.

SEE ALSO: Kejriwal's spectacular win has five lessons for Rajinikanth, Mamata Banerjee, MK Stalin, and Lalu Yadav


Update at 3:02 pm: EC confirms Raghav Chadha's win from Rajinder Nagar constituency by 20058 votes.

Update at 2:46 pm: Manish Sisodia speaks to the media, says, "I am happy that voters of Patparganj did not fall for BJP's politics of hate ".

Update at 2:42 pm: Raghav Chadha welcomed at AAP's office, carried on shoulders and garlanded. Manish Sisodia has left the counting centre to reach AAP office.


Update at 2:30 pm: Manish Sisodia leads with over 2000 votes from the Patparganj constituency, while Atishi leads by over 9770 votes.

Update at 1:50 pm: AAP has gained 57 seats according to the Election Commission. But some of its star candidates are still witnessing a close fight. Atishi, AAP's candidate from Kalkaji, has taken a lead over BJP's Dharambir Singh. However, Deputy CM Manish Sisodia is currently trailing from the Patparganj constituency.

The vote share in favour of AAP is has went up to 53.3% at 12 noon from 47.7% earlier in the day. And for BJP, the vote share fell below 40% down from over 46.48% at 9:30 am, according to latest Election Commission data. Congress has so far received only 4.15% of the votes.


Party2020 Seats2020 Vote share2019 seats2015 Vote share

Incumbent MLA Jagdish Pradhan from the BJP has a lead margin of 18,329 votes against Aam Aadmi Party's Haji Yunus. Pradhan had won with a lead of just 6,031 in 2015. In Burari, Sanjeev Jha from AAP has widened his lead over JD(U)'s Shailendra Kumar to 10,599 votes. In the last election in 2015, Jha had a margin of 67,950 votes.

However, there were at least five constituencies where the leading, irrespective of the party, had a lead of less than 100 votes.

Slimmest leads
Constituency LeadingLeading Candidate Margin
Source: Election Commission

While all exit polls without exception have handed the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) a clear victory, it will be interesting to see the impact of the fall in voter turnout to 62.59%, compared to 67.13% five years ago.

In New Delhi constituency, Arvind Kejriwal, who is seeking re-election, is leading over BJP Sunil Yadav by over 6000 votes. In 2015, Kejriwal won the election with a margin of 31583 votes

Arvind Kejriwal, Delhi’s chief minister, is hoping to earn a second term in office. His manifesto for the election was a 10-step ‘Kejriwal ki Guarantee’ — including promises like regularising the city’s unauthorised colonies, a ‘world-class’ education system, more public transportation and making Delhi litter-free.

Arvind Kejriwal, Delhi’s chief minister, is hoping to earn a second term in office. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) had clocked a record 67 seats in the 70-member Delhi assembly in 2015.

The poll of all exit polls showed a clear majority for the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) with a few seats for the challenger, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Congress has no seats in the assembly to protect but a lot of pride at stake.


Times Now IPSOS51181
ABP News- C-Voter49-615-190-4
India Today- Axis My India59-682-110
Neta- News X53-5711-70-2

There is a lot at stake for Manoj Tiwari, who entered politics in 2009, is a member of the parliament from North East Delhi.


Delhi BJP State President Manoj Tiwari (C) with Union Minister Prakash Javadekar (L) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) vice-president Shyam Jaju (R) during the release of BJP's first list of 57 candidates for Delhi Assembly polls, at BJP headquarter in New Delhi.Photo/Arun Sharma)(

The 49-year-old actor, singer and politician has led BJP’s campaign in Delhi. If the party springs a surprise win, which seems unlikely, or even some meaningful gains, it will raise Tiwari’s political stature and position him for a larger role in the national party ahead. Crucial state election in his home state of Bihar are scheduled later this year.

BJP leaders have claimed that the results of the Delhi Assembly election results will take everyone by surprise as the saffron party is all set to stake claim to power with a resounding majority, the IANS reported."Don't be surprised if we win 55 seats," Tiwari claimed on Wednesday morning, just before the counting began.

On the other hand, Congress has seen dwindling vote share in the national capital. An analysis of the last nine elections in Delhi, including the ones for the Parliament and the civic body aside from the state assembly, show that the national party is losing appeal among the electorate, steadily.

This story will be updated with news and highlights as they develop through the day.

Election strategy: AAP may win in Delhi by not falling for BJP’s traps