Indore Lok sabha election result 2019: Pankaj Sanghvi(CONG) leading against Shankar Lalwani(BJP)

Majority of 2019 election result predictions for Indore forecast that BJP will win from this constituency. If the forecasts come true, BJP will stand to win from this seat during parliamentary elections for a record number of 9th time in a row.

One of the key Lok Sabha constituencies of the state of Madhya Pradesh, Indore is an unreserved seat. The key candidates contesting in the Lok Sabha elections 2019 from Indore seat are Shankar Lalwani of BJP, Pankaj Sanghvi of Congress and Deepchan Ahirwal of the BSP. There are a total number of 22 candidates contesting in 2019 Lok Sabha elections from Indore and waiting for the results. This number consists of 5 woman candidates.
During 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the result favored Sumitra Mahajan of BJP as she managed to get 4,66,901 votes more than her opponent Satyanarayan Patel of the Congress party. For quite long, the Indore Lok Sabha seat has been the stronghold of Sumitra Mahajan, the speaker of the lower house of parliament from 1989 and a senior BJP leader. She won the Lok Sabha elections with thumping results consecutively for eight times in a BJP ticket. However, 76 year old Sumitra Mahajan has decided not to contest in the elections this time and the BJP party leadership has nominated Shankar Lalwani to contest in the 2019 elections from Indore constituency. The choice of Congress party this time is Pankaj Sanghvi who lost in a narrow margin of 49,852 votes against Sumitra Mahajan in 1998 elections.


There are eight assembly segments in the Parliamentary constituency of Indore. The total number of electors in the constituency recorded as per the 2014 statistics is 2,115,303 with the figure comprising of 1,106,461 males and 1,008,842 females. Indore reported a voter turnout of 64.44% in 2019 general elections, which is up against the 62.25% voter turnout recorded in 2014.