Punjab Lok Sabha Election Result 2019: Congress wins maximum seats as Sunny Deol champions for BJP

Punjab Lok Sabha Election Result 2019: Congress wins maximum seats as Sunny Deol champions for BJP
Congress party President, Rahul Gandhi, campaigns with Punjab's Chief Minister, Captain Amarinder SinghBCCL

Punjab Lok Sabha Election Result 2019 = INC =8, AAP = 1, BJP=2, SAD= 2

ConstituencyCurrent MP 2014INC Candidate NamesAAP Candidate NamesSAD + BJP Candidate Names
GurdaspurSunil JakharSunil JakharPeter Masi ChiraSunny Deol (Winner)
AmritsarGurjeet Singh AujlaGurjeet Singh Aujla( (Winner)Kuldeep Singh DhaliwalHardeep Singh Puri
Khadoor SahibJasbir Singh Gill (Winner)Manjinder Singh SidhuBibi jagir Kaur
JalandharRanjit Singh BrahmpuraSantokh Singh Chaudhary (Winner)Jora SinghCharanjit Singh Atwal
HoshiarpurSantokh Singh ChaudharyDr. Rajkumar ChabbewalDr Ravjot SinghSom Prakash (Winner)
Anandpur SahibVijay SamplaManish Tiwari (Winner)Narinder Singh ShergillPrem Singh Chandumajra
LudhianaPrem Singh ChandumajraRavneet Singh Bittu (Winner)Tejpal SinghMahesh Inder Singh Grewal
Fatehgarh SahibRavneet Singh BittuDr. Amar Singh (Winner)Baljinder Singh ChondaDarbara Singh Guru
FaridkotHarinder Singh KhalsaMohd Sadique (Winner)Sadhu SinghGulzar Singh Ranike
FirozpurSadhu SinghSher Singh GhubayaHarjinder Singh KakaSukhbir Singh Badal(Winner)
BathindaSher Singh GhubayaAmarinder Singh Raja WarringBaljinder KaurHarsimrat Kaur Badal (Winner)
SangrurHarsimrat Kaur BadalKewal Singh DhillonBhagwat Mann (Winner)Parminder Singh Dhindsa
PatialaBhagwant MannSmt. Preneet Kaur (Winner)Nina MittalSurjit Singh Rakhra

Data from Election Commission

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) might have had a fighting chance in 2014, but C-Voter's exit polls for this year’s Lok Sabha Election were proven correct with the party only winning one seat in Sangrur and the majority leaning towards the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA).

On 13 seats in Punjab, INC won eight seats, BJP won four seats and Aam Aadmi Party has the one seat to its name. The former actor, Sunny Deol, who joined BJP earlier this month, brought home Gurdaspur for the saffron party. They've also won in Bathinda, Hoshiarpur, and Firozpur.

The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Shriromani Akali Dali (SDA) was counting on the anti-incumbency wave against the state’s Chief Minister, Captain Amarinder Singh, to win over Punjab. They even brought in Sunny Deol to keep the Gurdaspur constituency from falling into Congress’ hands.

Their efforts weren’t nearly enough. Even in 2014, the NDA only led by a very thin margin of five seats — four seats went to AAP and three to the UPA.

Punjab has 13 Lok Sabha seats in total. For 2019 Lok Sabha elections, all the seats went for polling together during the seventh and the last phase of elections in the country on May 19, 2019. Over the past few general elections, the BJP has been performing poorly in this state either with no seats or with very few seats to take for the parliament. In 2014 elections, the party did not secure even a single seat from here.


In 2009 general elections, the party got just one constituency and in the 2004 Lok Sabha elections, BJP got just 3 places from Punjab. In the Amritsar constituency, Hardeep Puri of Congress is fighting the Lok Sabha elections 2019 with AAP’s Kuldeep Singh Dhaliwal and Hardeep Singh Puri of BJP. From Jalandhar seat, Santokh Singh Chaudhary of Congress has locked horns with AAP's is Jora Singh and SAD’s Charanjit Singh Atwal. SAD is an ally of the BJP. In the Patiala constituency, Preneet Kaur of Congress has contested with Nina Mittal of AAP and Surjit Singh Rakhra of SAD. The choice of candidates by the Congress party in the key constituencies can pose a bigger challenge for AAP and BJP in Punjab.