How to delete and deactivate your Twitter account

How to delete and deactivate your Twitter account
It's easy to delete your Twitter account on any device, and still preserve your username.Maskot/Getty Images
  • You can delete your Twitter account by deactivating it on the Twitter website or mobile app.
  • When you deactivate a Twitter account, you have 30 days or 12 months to reactivate it before deletion.
  • You can preserve your Twitter username or email in case you want to use them with a new account.

Twitter can be a source for breaking news, trending memes, and updates from friends. At the same time, it can feel like a nuisance full of knee-jerk reactions and misleading information.

If you're ready to say goodbye to the social media app, you can deactivate your account on the Twitter website or mobile app for iPhone or Android. If you want to preserve your username or email address to create a new account with, you can do that as well.

Quick tip: If you want to clean up your Twitter without deleting your account, you can delete all your tweets using Tweet Delete.
Advertisement

How to delete your Twitter account on iPhone or Android

1. Open the Twitter app on your iPhone or Android.

2. Tap the icon of three horizontal lines in the top-left corner and select "Settings and privacy."

3. Tap "Account" at the top of the "Settings and privacy" page.
Advertisement

4. At the bottom of the "Account" page, select "Deactivate your account."

5. Next to "Reactivation period," tap "Make a selection" and choose either 30 days or 12 months in the pop-up. 6. Scroll to the bottom of the page and tap "Deactivate."
Advertisement

7. Enter your password and hit "Deactivate."

8. A pop-up should prompt you to finally finish deactivating your account. Press "Yes, deactivate" and it will then take you to the Twitter login page after successfully deactivating your account.

Note: While your Twitter account is in the reactivation period, your username, display name, and public profile will not be viewable on the Twitter website or mobile app. You can reactivate your account at any point simply by logging back in.
Advertisement

How to delete your Twitter account on desktop

1. Go to the Twitter website and log into your account.

2. In the menu on the left side of the Twitter homepage, click "More."

How to delete and deactivate your Twitter account
Click "More" on the left side of the Twitter website.Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider
3. Select "Settings and privacy" in the pop-up.
Advertisement
How to delete and deactivate your Twitter account
Click "Settings and privacy."Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider
4. At the top of the Settings menu, click "Your account."
How to delete and deactivate your Twitter account
Go to "Your account."Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider

5. Click "Deactivate your account" at the bottom of the "Your Account" menu.

How to delete and deactivate your Twitter account
Click "Deactivate your account."Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider
6. In the "Deactivate account" section, choose a "Reactivation period." You can select either 30 days or 12 months.
Advertisement
How to delete and deactivate your Twitter account
Choose a reactivation period: 30 days or 12 months.Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider

7. Click "Deactivate" at the bottom of the page.

How to delete and deactivate your Twitter account
Click "Deactivate."Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider
8. Enter your password and click "Deactivate."
How to delete and deactivate your Twitter account
Enter your password and click "Deactivate."Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider
9. A pop-up should prompt you to finally finish deactivating your account.
Advertisement

How to delete the Twitter app

If you're not ready to delete your Twitter account but want to take a break from the site, you can delete the app from your device without deleting your entire account.

To delete the Twitter app on an Android, hold your finger down on the app icon and tap "Uninstall," or to hide the app, drag and drop it in your app drawer.

To delete the Twitter app on an iPhone, hold your finger down on the app icon and tap "Remove App" then "Delete App," or to move the app to your App Library, tap "Remove App" then "Remove from Home Screen."
Advertisement

How to reuse your username or email on Twitter

When you delete your Twitter account, your username is deleted along with it. If you want to reuse your username, then before you deactivate your account, change your username to something you don't mind being deleted.

You can take the following steps before deactivating your account to preserve your current username or email address for future use.

1. Open Twitter in a browser or in the mobile app and log in.
Advertisement
2. In a web browser, click the "More" option on the left side of the screen. On the mobile app, tap the icon of three horizontal lines in the top-left corner.
How to delete and deactivate your Twitter account
On the mobile app, tap the three horizontal lines icon.Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider

3. Choose "Settings and privacy," then select "Account."

How to delete and deactivate your Twitter account
In the "Settings and privacy" menu, tap "Account."Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider
4. In the Account section, select "Username" and enter a new one.
Advertisement
How to delete and deactivate your Twitter account
Tap "Username" and enter a new username.Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider

5. Likewise, click "Email" and enter a new email address.

6. Select "Save changes" at the bottom of the screen. 7. Confirm the new email when Twitter sends you a confirmation email.
Advertisement

How to reactivate a Twitter account

1. Open Twitter in a web browser or open the mobile app.

2. Log in to your deactivated account.

3. A Twitter message will ask you to confirm you want to reactivate.
Advertisement

4. Your account will be restored, though it might take a few days for all your tweets and messages to reappear.

How to clear your Twitter cache on a mobile device to make the app run more efficiently How to add an additional Twitter account, and easily switch between accounts, on the mobile app or website How to change your Twitter email address on a computer or mobile device How to clear your Twitter search history on a computer or mobile device
{{}}